by Francesca Zelnick

Many years ago, I learned how to fall in love. Over and over again, and in a multitude of ways. I learned what it means to care about others, what it means to live for them, to wish for their happiness more than anything you wish for yourself. I learned what it means to open yourself so fully to another that you laugh their joy, and cry their grief, and share your hearts so completely that no distinction can be made between their life and your own.

I learned this from loving Meghan, and from loving Sam, and from watching Meghan and Sam learn to love each other. And every day, I learn a little more.

It has been one of the great privileges of my life to learn love from the two of you – to give it, and receive it, and to watch it grow and strengthen between you, and to feel it grow and strengthen between us. I am so proud to say that I have been there from the very beginning, and I am so honored to be a part of all that is to come.

And I am so grateful. I am grateful for you, and your friendship, and all of the joy and comfort you’ve brought me. I am grateful to you, for always being there for me, for teaching me, for giving me faith in love.

If I know what love is, it is because of you. It is because many years ago I learned to fall in love with each of you, and then got to be there to see you fall in love with each other, and then got to experience another kind of love – the love I felt for you as a couple, as something new, something more.

It is not that you complete each other, but rather that you make two complete people stronger, and wiser, and happier through love. Your love for one another makes each of you better. And by sharing that love with us, you make each of us better. And we are all better for loving the two of you.

And I love you – as individuals, and as a couple, and as two of my truest and dearest friends. I love you for your creativity and talent and ambition. I love you for your kindness and generosity and compassion. I love you for your intellect and wit and understanding.

I love you for being silly and for being serious and for knowing when each is necessary. I love you for laughing with me and crying with me and sitting by my side in conversation and in silence. I love you for growing up with me, and for helping me to grow up, and for allowing me to be with you while you became the remarkable people you are.

I love you because it is impossible not to love you, because I can’t imagine my life without you, because there is no distinction between your lives and my own. You are my life. You are my friends. You are my family. You are my teachers. You are the answer to all of my questions about love.

I have learned so very much from you. And every day, I learn a little more. And what else is there to say? But over and over again, in a multitude of ways – thank you. And I love you. And I wish for you a lifetime of happiness and joy.

Comments on: "For Meghan and Sam, On Their Wedding Day" (3)

  1. “It is not that you complete each other, but rather that you make two complete people stronger, and wiser, and happier through love. Your love for one another makes each of you better. And by sharing that love with us, you make each of us better. And we are all better for loving the two of you.”

    I think this is one of the most beautiful observations of love and the love between people I have ever read. Truly.

  2. Dear Francesca – I have invited you to join the Līgo Circle of Appreciation among fellow bloggers.

    For a duration of 22 days, starting on October 1, 2012, two bloggers per day will be invited to join the Līgo Circle of Appreciation. PLEASE NOTE: This is an Appreciation, NOT an Award.

    The yearly Līgo celebration happens every summer solstice in Latvia. At this time people adorn their heads with Līgos of flowers, oak leaves, grasses and plants. They join circles around bonfires and celebrate life, and our appreciation of each other.

    To fully participate in the Līgo Circle of Appreciation:
    * Complete this sentence about blogging: ”A great blog is…”
    * Refer back to the blogger who invited you.
    * Invite 2 bloggers to join the Līgo Circle of Appreciation on a post.

    You are appreciated! – Carol, http://carolwelsh.wordpress.com/2012/10/21/ligo-circle-of-appreciation/.

  3. Very dear Francesca, illness over the summer months has kept me from conversations I’d have loved to be having. Thankfully I’m tentatively returning to our worldwide fellowship and wanted, so, so, so much to tell you that you are truly a most wonderful human being and that Meghan and Sam must be honoured to the depths of themselves by this extraordinary gift you’ve given to them – and to other readers. I hope, as always, that this finds you in peace and joy. Love and thanks x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,382 other followers

